Light Shinners

Lights-550x385

I love lights!  I love morning light!  The first thing I do when I get up is to open the curtain in my living room so I can see the sun coming up.  At Christmas, I love to put as many lights on my tree as possible.  Then, I turn out the lights so that I can see the little tiny lights on my tree.  I love all different kinds of lighting.

One of the things I like best about lights is how just a small little tiny light can chase away a dark corner.  Doesn’t have to be a big, bright light.  Matter of fact, a big bright light is obnoxious and annoying.   Too much light!  If the light is too bright people cover their eyes and try to run away from the light.  No, I prefer the small, tiny quiet lights that just unobtrusively  brighten up the dark corner where you placed them.

I think that as followers of Christ, we should be like the small, tiny quiet lights that brighten up a dark corner.   I think that sometimes we feel the need to blast people with big, bright light.  If we aren’t using our flood lights, shinning in people’s faces, then how will they know what we believe.  I think this is all wrong!

Jesus said, “You are the light of the world.  A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” Matt. 5:13-16

“Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them, for then you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.” Matt. 6:1

A few weeks ago we had a guest speaker at our church and he said something that has stuck with me ever since.  He said that instead of trying to come in with a bulldozer to knock down walls that we should be more concerned with “doing a little good.”

Doing a little good!  That small, simple, tiny quiet light.  Just a little good.  In our society today we have everything shouting at us for attention.  The TV people shout for us to pay attention to them.  The preacher shouts for us to pay attention to him.  Our boss shouts at us to pay attention to him and so on.

Jesus instructs us to be a light on a hill.  He said instead of practicing our faith so that we can be seen, we should be just a little salt and just a little light.  Just that doing a little good.

We can get so caught up with being a Christian, and practicing our faith,  that we forget how to do a little good in just our everyday life.  It really very simple.  Instead of being angry because your order at the restaurant was wrong and giving the person behind the counter a “piece of your mind”,  how about just being kind and understanding?  Instead of freely giving your opinion to the person that’s in a crisis, (this is my problem)  how about just be quiet and understanding and just listen to what they’re saying?   Maybe by doing a little good and shinning our quiet lights,  someone will see the love of Jesus in us and will be blessed!

About gypsygurl64

Just me and my thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

