Parking Lot Birds

parking lot birds

The meaning behind songs interest me.   I am always interested in why someone wrote a specific song.  What was going on in their lives at that time?  What was the reason’s they wrote this song.  This morning I was doing my devotions and listen to music.  One of my favorite songs “His Eye is on the Sparrow” came up so I thought I would look up who wrote this song and why.

The writer of this song was Civilla D. Martin and her husband.   On a trip to New York, the couple make friends with another couple by the name of Doolittle.   Both of the Doolittle’s were handicapped.  Mrs. Doolittle had been bedridden for 20 years and Mr. Doolittle had been in a wheelchair but even though they struggled through their limitations they were happy and brought inspiration and comfort to all that were around them.  When the Martin’s asked them what their secret was to being so hopeful and happy,  Mrs. Doolittle said, “His eye is on the sparrow and I know he watches me.”

Often, when I am out shopping and walking through the parking lot I see sparrows everywhere I think about this song and the scripture.   I call them parking lot birds.  The are in most any parking lot just hopping around looking for food.  They are just that common!

One day as I was out walking during a break from work; thinking about an issue I was having to deal with, I came across one of those parking lot birds just happily hopping around on the sidewalk without a care.  Immediately, God reminded me that if he cares about this common parking lot bird then don’t I think he cares that much more about me?

Sometimes we get sidetracked with all the other things that are going on in our lives.  We forget there is a God that is interested in our lives.  That if he cares about the parking lot birds,  how much more important we are than a sparrow.

His Eye Is on the Sparrow. (2015, June 19). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 16:09, August 4, 2015, from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=His_Eye_Is_on_the_Sparrow&oldid=667628695

About gypsygurl64

Just me and my thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parking Lot Birds

  1. thefolia says:

    Something so special about seeing the first sparrow of Spring. Happy chirping!

  2. I love this post! Absolutely beautiful. I’ve loved that scripture myself, enough that I named my dog Sparrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

