Fizzy Water and Coffee

coffee-cup-4carbonated water bubbles
I love fizzy water and coffee!

In my quest to lose weight I decided to visit a weight loss surgeon. I’ve always been kinda hesitant about doing weight loss surgery because it seems like cheating. It feels like taking the easy way out and I’ve never been known to do things the easy way! I’m not knocking anyone that had weight loss surgery just saying how I feel about it. I was looking at have the gastric band put on. It was an interesting 2 hour visit. It’s seemed like this assembly line of people who are coming in and out of the exam room giving you information. First it’s someone from billing telling me about the cost. Next the Nurse came in and went over some medical jargon. Then the medical assistant, who takes my blood and other vitals, the nutritionist, who tells you what you can and can’t eat, the doctor, and the nurse again. No time between people. Felt a little like a cattle call.

So while being in this weight loss round-up there was one thing that caused me to make the decision I did. While talking to the nutritionist and the billing department I heard a couple of things that caused me to think twice about having this procedure. First thing, I found out is that I have to wait 6 months before having the procedure. I would have to see my family doctor and go on an eating plan. What!! If I could control my eating I wouldn’t be visiting a surgeon and thinking of surgery! The next thing, and the deal breaker for me, was what I would have to give up for the rest of my life. I would not be able to have ANYTHING carbonated again! Not ever! I might occasionally have a soda but not very often. But I adore my fizzy water! Drink it every day! All day! Go through 2 liter bottle of fizzy water sometimes in one day! To be told that I can never drink my sparkling, lemon-lime, water again just closed that door! I would rather stay fat!! The second thing I was told was that I can’t drink coffee for 3 months after the surgery. Here again, I’m not a “pot a day” coffee drinker but I love my coffee. To be able to drink it for 3 months was more than I could bear. So I had to decline having surgery. If I could control myself I wouldn’t be sitting in the doctor’s office think about weight loss surgery.

Again, I’m back to square one looking for the fairy!

About gypsygurl64

Just me and my thoughts.
This entry was posted in Losing weight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

