Rights and Privileges

Today in church my son-in-law was speaking about rights and privileges that got me thinking about my love affair with food.  My family can tell you that I have a rebellious streak about a mile wide.  I HATE to be told that I can’t do something.  (Funny this doesn’t work when it comes to losing weight!)   It causes the hair to stand up on the back of my neck and I think who are you to tell me what I can’t do!  You’re not in charge of me!   It’s my right!  I can do whatever I want!  

For me, this same concept spills over into controlling what I eat.  It’s my right to eat anything I want no matter how bad it is for me or even if I’m hungry or not.  How dare you try to control me!   The definition of right is a “moral or legal entitlement to have or obtain something or act in a certain way”.  The word privilege means ” a right or benefit given to someone and not to others”.  This kinda makes me look at things with a different perspective.  I have a son that serves in the military.  It is a privilege for him to serve so that I can have the right to be free.  For most people it is easy to give up a privilege but a lot harder to give up a right.  Why is it so hard to give up a right?  I think it has to do with the spirit of American’s and how we became America.  That search for the right to do what I want without anyone telling me I can’t.  The right to BE how we choose.  The right to eat anything I want.  

So listening to my son-in-law speak today I wondered what if I tried a different approach to food.  How about if I look at food as a privilege and not as a  right.  Maybe what my mama always said about other people going hungry might cause me look at things in different light.  It IS a privilege to be able to go to the store and buy that package of cookies or that half gallon of ice cream. It IS a privilege to jump in my car and run around the corner to the nearest fast food place and order that hamburger.  So if it’s a privilege am I willing to lay that privilege down?  With this in my mind maybe this idea will help me not eat that 10th cookie.  

Oh and I’m still trying to catch that fairy with the tenacity dust!free_clipart_fairy_paintings

About gypsygurl64

Just me and my thoughts.
This entry was posted in Losing weight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

